Everyone's needs are different. We know which fertility doctor is perfect for you!

  • Fertility concierges
  • Top fertility doctors
  • Custom doctor recommendations
  • Priority appointments

You are here

Status message

Active context: desktop
Average: 3.7 (12 votes)5 1

John J Zhang M.D.

Reproductive Endocrinology
New Hope Fertility
4 Columbus Circle
4th Floor
New York, NY 10019



Success Rates

IVF Success Rates: 

IVF Success Rates-Fresh Cycle

According to the most recent report published by the CDC, New Hope Fertility Center-West Side in New York, New York performed 1,238 IVF cycles with fresh embryos in 2014. The number of IVF cycles and babies born, broken down by patients' age is as follows:

Clinic Name Number of Cycles by Age Live Birth Rate By Age (%)
<35 35-37 38-40 41-42 43-44 >44 <35 35-37 38-40 41-42 43-44 >44
New Hope Fertility Center-West Side 176 159 321 262 320 461 21.0 9.4 5.3 0.8 0.3 0.9

IVF Success Rates-Frozen Cycle

According to the most recent report published by the CDC, New Hope Fertility Center-West Side in New York, New York performed 848 IVF cycles with frozen embryos in 2014. The number of IVF cycles and babies born, broken down by patients' age is as follows:

Clinic Name Number of Cycles by Age Live Birth Rate By Age (%)
<35 35-37 38-40 41-42 43-44 >44 <35 35-37 38-40 41-42 43-44 >44
New Hope Fertility Center-West Side 203 167 201 142 135 169 52.7 38.3 38.3 20.4 5.2 2.4
Egg Donation Success Rates: 

Egg Donation Success Rates

As reported by New Hope Fertility Center-West Side in New York, New York to the CDC in 2014, the fertility clinic performed 179 donor egg cycles in that year; 6 cycles used fresh embryos from donor eggs and 173 cycles used frozen embryos from donor eggs.

Clinic Name Fresh Embryos from Donor Eggs Live Birth Rate (%) Frozen Embryos from Donor Eggs Live Birth Rate (%)
New Hope Fertility Center-West Side 6 3 / 6 173 46.8

*Success rates can be manipulated and should not be used to compare fertility clinics


Reviews (17)


Your rating: 25 1
Do not respond to emails. forget to call back. I from another country planned to come to the clinic for treatment. I was interested in the approximate prices of their procedures. I sent a lot of letters but no one answered. I called and the staff promised to call back but did not call back. I see many bad reviews. more I do not want to go to this clinic. I began to doubt the quality of treatment. how can I fly from another country, pay a lot of money if the work of the clinic is bad. I wanted to undergo treatment with a doctor Zhang but I see the reviews are not very good.perhaps a doctor is a good specialist, but his staff who work with your medication do their work poorly. I can not trust my health to these people. I do not like that I can not see the doctor urgently and will wait for a long time when he can talk if something goes wrong. I wanted to have a treatment with a doctor and not with nurses.


Your rating: 15 1
I can't quite put my finger on it...my first impression is the Doctor Zhang appeared to rush through his script,when I asked a question he sort of answered me in a condescending way. I think they used the 49 year old woman pregnant with own eggs is a gimmick to pull potential customers.Then when you get there he looks at you side eyed saying ,"do you understand you have 1% chance of getting a good egg. After that you never see him again..you now have to deal with a gaggle of staff members that appear to be uninformed and struggle to explain the process at least the one nurse that I encountered..making errors with medications and such at the end of the day they are not that advance...high tech labs now have ways to not disturb embryo when checking on their progress.New hope pulls them out of incubator to monitor..if you take a fish out of water it will die..im sure some embryos can survive that..but mine did not..it arrested early on and it took 7 days to get a call.i was floored...that was almost $3300 down the drain.. My impressions are there are other places that offer more personalized treatment with better live birth success...lm looking into prp ovarian rejuvenation and augment its a fortune but I will do anything to try to have a baby, I would not recommend the exterior looks fine and dandy but when you look deeper its not what it seems.

Management is horrible

Your rating: 15 1
Finance supervisor needs to be trained professionally. She has no communication skills, people like supervisor Tanya needs to work with animals. Not people. Tanya will drive patients/clients out of the center.

Management is a big mess

Your rating: 15 1
i have been with New hope for a while, and in summary, a big stress and frustration for managing the ivf myself on top of ivf stress itself. Doctors are good, but patient management is a big mess. I would not recommend NH to any of my friends.

Mixed reviews

Your rating: 15 1
My wife and I attended New Hope earlier this year, We read the ratings. Some were very positive, some were very negative. We attended an initial consultation. We had mixed feelings. We were waiting over two hours for our appointment. Otherwise, everything else seemed fine. My wife said she had a gut feeling that something was bad. We ultimately decided to go with New Hope. Initially, everything seemed fine. All of the scheduling issues that were rated so badly on older reviews seemed to be fixed. They created an electronic system that schedules you as soon as you show up. That is very convenient. They also provide email updates with your hormone results. The follicle counts were not listed, which is something they should include. This data is helpful, especially if you need this data in the future. So I give them credit for improving on this part of the patient experience. Now the problem: on egg retrieval day, my wife claims she had a horrific experience. She waited two hours for her procedure because the operating suite was backed up. The experience in the operating suite also seemed to be unprofessional and shoddy. I don't know the exact details, but the way she explained it to me, when you go for an outpatient procedure in a hospital, they introduce themselves to you and make sure you are comfortable. This was not the case at New Hope. Also, when they release you in a hospital, they make sure you have water to drink (since you have not had food and water for many hours), and they make sure you have someone to pick you up. This was not the case at New Hope. They don't give you water. A woman next to her complained of severe pain, and they just gave her some ibuprofen or something. Then they just kicked you out without asking if anyone was there to drive you home. Sadly, the procedure was not successful. The initial email informing us of this was a one sentence statement. When we spoke with them afterwards, the explanations were not clear. Was it because of this bad treatment, or was it just that this IVF cycle was just a BFN regardless? We would never know, but at least if the experience was positive, you can look back and say you gave it the best shot. My wife said the IVF cycle at New Hope was the worst experience of her life. She continues to talk about this experience with such anger and disgust that listening to her is wearing on me. It was that bad. Now we can't look back and say we gave this our best shot. If they are reading this: you need to improved the egg retrieval experience. Have empathy for patients. Introduce yourselves to the patients and get to know their history. Treat them with care when releasing them. And make sure the scheduling is done professionally so people are not waiting for hours in line, naked in a cold room under a medical gown.

Wonderful place

Your rating: 55 1
They are about their business of working to get their patients treated. I started fertility tx in March of 2012 and was pregnant by September 2012. This center is huge. They have more than one location. I preferred the Park Ave location as is seem a little less busy. This place opens very early in the morning and closes in the evening, just to capture all of their patients labs and procedures. I found a way to avoid the long wait... I would say how, but then all of you would know and I would have a longer wait when I try for baby number 2. lol I was 37 when I had my son. I would recommend NH. They are very professional and efficient there were a few snags here and there. But they were quickly resolved. They were great and informing me of my labs daily by email. For a woman on the go, that was perfect for me. I'm greatful for NH. Thank you Dr. Zhang and the rest of the staff.

Very disappointed

Your rating: 15 1
A very badly organised practice. A telephone consultation we scheduled with the secretary did not take place we waited for an hour to get to know that he is too busy. If even a phone call is impossible to make I do not want to know how the treatment would do. Very disappointing clinic.

Successful story to share

Your rating: 55 1
New hope is the only fertility center that I have been to. Love this place. Because of their professional and very knowledgable doctors My baby boy was born in 2012. I'm almost 40 years old,but the functions of my ovaries is over 45 years old. FSH is always high. All the hormones are not balanced and it's very hard to predict the time of ovulation. Tried 2 time only 1 egg was retrieved. So I took the change to only transfer one egg, ( the only egg) However, they did it at the first shot!! Many thanks to the New Hope. And here I m again to try for the second baby.. And definitely will recommend this facility to all mother to bes!! Don't give up the hope to become a mother!!! And don't let any other negative reviews to influence your decision. Go and try to have some experience of your own!!

Mini ivf

Your rating: 55 1
I have been under treatment for over one year with New Hope and am doing embryo banking as reffomended by Dr. Zhang. My experience esonfar is very positiv Dr. Zhang is very knowledgeable and treats every cycle with individualized care. He really cares about the patient and tries to use the least amount of medicine possible for the best outcome! He is very busy but is always available to answer any questions! It is a bit difficult to talk to the nurses specially if you are an out of town patient but once you are at the clinic they are all very kind and professional. I would recommend the center to anyone looking for Ivf.


Your rating: 45 1
I have been going here since early March. I find the staff quite pleasant and have not had any problems. I have only had to wait long one time in almost two months and the doctor personally apologized for it.


Your rating: 15 1
I never write reviews, but felt compelled to write one about this careless, useless & hopeless place! DO NOT get suckered into going here for fertility treatment. If you do, here's what you can expect: You will be impressed by your first visit. They'll set you up with your initial consultation very quickly. They will be very nice to you, but it won't seem genuine. It isn't. You'll be escorted throughout the office to have an ultrasound, blood work, meet with the doctor, who will recommend mini-IVF and PGD. It feels rushed. But you are wiling to do whatever it takes. You are sure you've finally found the right place! An answer to your prayers. You will talk to the billing department. You will cringe at the cost of this supposed more affordable treatment option, but you will mentally justify the cost. You will be sent home with some information but lots of questions. They will assure you of their ability & willingness to answer any of your questions & concerns. You will be comforted by that. You will go home. You will have a question or two or three, now that you've had time to digest the limited information they gave you. If you were treated anywhere else before now,you will be disappointed at the lack of info in comparison to your last RE. You will call New Hope and get to a voicemail box for the nurses. You will leave a message. The nurses will not return your call. You will send an email. The nurses will not reply to your email. You will have a billing question and leave a voicemail for the billing department. No one will call you back. You will email the billing department. Your email will be ignored. You will call and email again. You will wait DAYS AND DAYS for a response from ANYONE in this entire practice, and that response will NEVER come!! You will call again and again and leave message after message. You will start making your email subject lines more urgent & you will be downright enraged that you are BEING IGNORED by the very people who led you to believe you were in good hands. You will wonder how you will be treated when you are actually fully under their care & have clinical questions or concerns. More time will pass. You will not hear from them. You will go online & you will post a scathing review of this incompetent group and you will warn others not to waste their precious time here!! You will hope that sharing your horrible experience will help at least one person!!! If you are on the fence about going here, run far away, in the direction of a fertility clinic that backs up its promises and won't treat you like you don't exist! I will be posting this review anywhere and everywhere I possibly can to get the word out about this poor excuse for a medical practice. You have a choice!! Go elsewhere!!

i would NOT recommend NH

Your rating: 15 1
i give NH one star for a very nice front desk and excellent embryology dept- everything else is a disaster. they take on more patients than they can handle so you become a number and no one really listens to you and your health issues which means you get passed around A LOT.. to speak to my doctor after retrieval (which was messed up by them btw and doctor admitted it) it took me over 2 weeks of incessant emails and phone calls.. then i went in person and they (human resources) told me ONE MONTH to speak to Dr Zhang. bottom line - it is a factory in there and if you don't understand fertility and IVF on your own you will have an even greater problem. i'm dissatisfied with the quality of service and the fact that their Human Resources Dept will only give you the run around. it is TERRIBLE!

Reply from New Hope Fertility

Hi Sophia, we are so sorry that you have been frustrated with our HR department and that you feel that you just got the run around. We are constantly working on our communication and try to give every one of our patients a great experience. If you would like to continue any of the conversations you’ve been having or if you feel that you have any unresolved concerns, please don’t hesitate to reach out to service@nhfc.com.


Your rating: 15 1
i normally do not write bad reviews so i'm pretty upset to be sharing this with the world. from the date of my retrieval i called over 5 times and wrote several emails and it took over two weeks to even briefly speak to Dr Zhang who acknowledged verbally that "mistakes were made" in my cycle- he also suggested i go somewhere else for the next cycle to get "better care" (so translation: my doctor dropped me because of his mistakes) -despite my concerted efforts to avoid some of the mistakes made by his team (including some from the first IVF cycle- this is the second cycle) mistakes were made and they expect the patient to pay for them. he promised to call me back ten days afterward for the "investigation" HE NEVER CALLED- and human resources says i have to wait A MONTH if i want to speak to him. there are too many patients and not enough focus on any of them. Dr Zhang as a doctor has a good reputation (my belief) but he is very over worked so patients get passed around and important details are overlooked so the IVF care is sloppy.. the only redeeming quality in my opinion at NH is the front desk and the professionalism of the embryology dept (which is great)- nurses did not respond to my emails and they forgot other important information that they should have written me like: to get a pregnancy test .. this is not what i signed up for- they will waste your time . if you want mistakes, shoddy follow up, frustration, the run around and like it when you need to book a month in advance to speak to your doctor then this is your place. SAVE YOUR MONEY

Horrible Doctor

Your rating: 15 1
Run, don't walk from this place. New Hope is a completely non functioning office. No one communicates. Wait times for blood work and ultrasound are a minimum of an hour. Imagine walking into a waiting room and EVERY TIME you are there there's at least 30 other women. So you wait and wait and wait and an hour passes and FINALLY you are called for blood work and then you have to wait some more for an ultra sound. God forbid you have a question for Dr. Zhang- he is dismissive and half answers the questions. The nurses that answer emails are the worst. I cannot tell you how many times I've been given incorrect information. Every time they call I have to confirm the instructions with another nurse. They actually called and gave me wrong trigger instructions. The only shining light was Dr. Nejat, who clearly didn't belong there. He took the time to answer questions and review the protocol and next steps. After he left it turned into a nightmare. I'm now doing IVF at a practice that is the complete opposite of this place. They give you an appointment, you wait no longer than 10 minutes. It's personalized and one on one. Everyone is compassionate and informative. It's everything an infertility practice should be. Not a factory like New Hope.

Reply from New Hope Fertility

Thank you so much for taking the time to communicate your experience. I'm really sorry to hear that that was your experience with our center -- we are working very hard to reduce the sort of wait times that you wrote about and, actually, have been putting systems into place to make things as quick as possible for everyone. Are these recent experiences you're writing about? If they are recurring incidents, I would be more than happy to help start an investigation to find out why you are having such a poor experience.


Dear Dr Zhang, Is it

Your rating: None5 1

Dear Dr Zhang,
Is it possible for me to ask you some questions? I did Ivf once a few years ago, not success then for some reason i gave up. I had read the story of the front page about you. now i am 45 years old, can i still pregnant? Thanks

Add new review

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
If this text does not disappear quickly, then your browser does not support Google Maps.